BRICS project launching workshop in Tampere on 12 November 2012

Agenda and timetable

Topic	Time
Departure from hotel to university where short walk through journalism facilities	09.30
Opening in presence of CMT Dean Hellman and COMET Director Raittila with introduction of participants; agreement about reporting	10.00
1. Terms of reference and budget of the Academy project; team members; covering local costs	10.15
Coffee/tea break	10.45
2. Objectives in Research plan (p. 3) and in reality	11.00
3. Work plan and expected results in Research plan (pp. 5-6, 10) and in reality	12.00
Lunch in university cafeteria's VIP cabinet	13.00
4. Media landscapes: discussion on templates delivered	14.00
Coffee/tea break	14.45
 5. Plan of activities until December 2013: Review of literature on media systems (Colin Sparks) role of media and journalists in democracies (Jyotika Ramaprasad) freedom and independence of media (Herman Wasserman) public service broadcasting (Lu Xinyu) BRICS in general (Daya Thussu) 	15.00
 6. Field studies on citizen participation in and through media (Leonardo Custodio) professional orientation of journalists (Svetlana Pasti) education of journalists (Kaarle Nordenstreng) 	15.45
 7. Attending conferences of i. ICA, London on 17-21 June ii. IAMCR, Dublin on 25-29 June iii. WJEC, Mechelen (near Brussels) on 3-5 July iv. with project meeting in either Dublin or Mechelen on 1-2 July 	16.30
8. Programme for Helsinki – Moscow – St. Petersburg	17.00
9. Closing in presence of Chancellor Krista Varantola	17.15
Departure from hotel by walk through main street to Lenin Museum	18.00
Walk from museum to restaurant Plevna for dinner	19.30

Participants from Finland

Kaarle Nordenstreng, professor emeritus

Mika Aaltola, docent

Jyrki Käkönen, professor emeritus

Jukka Pietiläinen, docent

Iiris Ruoho, docent

Svetlana Pasti, postdoc researcher

Leonardo Custodio, doctoral student

Dmitry Yagodin, doctoral student

Brazil

Raquel Paiva, associate professor (Rio)

Russia

Elena Vartanova, professor & dean (Moscow)

Dmitry Gavra (St. Petersburg)

Dmitry Strovsky (Yekaterinburg)

India

B.P. Sanjay, professor & vice chancellor (Tamil Nadu)

Daya Thussu, professor (London)

Jyotika Ramaprasad (Miami)

China

Peixi Xu, associate professor (Beijing)

Colin Sparks, professor (Hong Kong)

Yuezhi Zhao, professor (Vancouver)

South Africa

Herman Wasserman, professor (Grahamstown)