People

Hub members

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |

A

Erin M. Adamson, doctoral candidate, University of Kansas, United States
KEYWORDS: rural lifestyle migration, entrepreneurship, ageing, Americans and Europeans in Costa Rica, tourism mobilities
eadamson@ku.edu
Wisnu Adihartono, Sociologist, Researcher
KEYWORDS: LGBT studies, gay studies, migration studies, diaspora studies, family studies, sociology of everyday life, micro-sociology, Southeast Asian studies
wisnuadi.reksodirdjo@gmail.com
Paul Agnidakis, Senior Lecturer, University of Umeå and Research Fellow at Engaging Vulnerability Program, Uppsala University, Sweden
KEYWORDS: rural lifestyle migration, urban/rural, mobility, translocality, belonging
paul.agnidakis@umu.se; paul.agnidakis@etnologi.uu.se
Anya Ahmed, Professor of Wellbeing and Communities, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK
KEYWORDS: ageing, retirement migration, Spain, community, structural narrative analysis, transnationalism
Anya.Ahmed@mmu.ac.uk
Ulrika Åkerlund, Senior Lecturer, Karlstad University, Sweden
KEYWORDS: lifestyle mobilities, place meanings, counter-urbanization, everyday life, mobile methods, production and performance of lifestyle mobility
ulrika.akerlund@kau.se
Merve Altundal Öncü, Lecturer, PhD, Ankara University, Turkey
KEYWORDS: rural gentrification, Alpine gentrification, rural studies, lifestyle mobility, amenity migration, Taurus Mountains, Turkey
merve.altundal@gmail.com

B

Eve Bantman-Masum, Senior Lecturer, Université Toulouse-Jean Jaurès, France
KEYWORDS: lifestyle migration, promotion and recruitment, mobility industry, French emigration to Canada and Portugal
bantman.eve@gmail.com
Sylvain Beck, PhD Sociology, Reader in Social Work, EPSS/CYU Paris-Cergy University, France
KEYWORDS: migration, expatriation, self-transformation, cosmopolitanism, individuation, French in UK and Morocco
sylvain_beck@yahoo.fr
Michaela Benson, Professor in Public Sociology, Lancaster University, UK
KEYWORDS: theorizing lifestyle migration; migration, citizenship and class; power and privilege; Brexit; British in Europe; British in Rural France; North Americans in Panama
Benedicte Brahic, PhD, Senior Lecturer, Manchester Metropolitan University
KEYWORDS: intra-European migration, relationships and the family, gender, mothering, Brexit, privileged migration, mobility, cosmopolitanism
b.brahic@mmu.ac.uk

C

Dr. Maria A. Casado-Diaz, Associate Head of Department for Student Experience/Programme Leader for BA (Hons) Geography, University of the West of England, UK
KEYWORDS: retirement migration, tourism-related mobilities, visiting friends and relatives, Spain, social capital and leisure lifestyles, sharing economies and home exchange practices
maria.casado-diaz@uwe.ac.uk
Qiujie Chen, PhD candidate, École Pratique des Hautes Études – Université Paris Sciences et Lettres, France
KEYWORDS: lifestyle mobility in China, residential tourism, middle class, subculture, tourism economy
qiujie1024@gmail.com
Françoise Cognard, Associate Professor, University of Clermont Auvergne, France
KEYWORDS: amenity migrations, rural in-migration, rural gentrification, Dutch residents in France, French migration in Portugal, retirement migration in Portugal, lifestyle migration in French Polynesia
francoise.cognard@uca.fr
Sheila Croucher, Professor, Miami University, USA.
KEYWORDS: privileged mobility, Americans in Mexico and Canada, transnational politics, gender.
crouchsl@miamioh.edu

D

Claudia Dávila Valdés, Profesor Investigador, Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán, Mexico
KEYWORDS: Mérida, retirement migrantions, families migrations, Americans, Europeans
claudia.davila@correo.uady.mx
Jared Denman, Fukui Prefectural University, Japan
KEYWORDS: Japanese, Australia, mobility, personal communities, narratives
denman@fpu.ac.jp

E

Marco Eimermann, Assistant Professor, Human Geography, Umeå University, Sweden
KEYWORDS: communities, downshifting, entrepreneurs, rural development, sense of place, small villages, tourism
marco.eimermann@umu.se


Sten Engdahl, Ph.D., Lisbon School of Economics and Management (ISEG), Portugal
KEYWORDS: retirement migration, Portugal, Spain, Swedish IRM
stenengdahl@yahoo.com

F

Emma Fàbrega Domènech, PhD Fellow, Universitat de Barcelona, Spain
KEYWORDS: Retirement migration, Costa del Sol and Costa Brava, successful ageing, privileged migration, lifestyle and identity (re)construction
emma.fabrega@ub.edu
Dr. Fiona Ferbrache, Geography Lecturer, Keble College, Oxford, UK
KEYWORDS: Britons in France, intra-EU migration, Brexit, transnationalism, European mobilities, citizenship
Fiona.ferbrache@keble.ox.ac.uk
Célia Forget, Associate Professor and Scientific Coordinator of CELAT, PhD, Université Laval, Quebec City, Canada
KEYWORDS: mobile lifestyles, recreational vehicle communities, vanlife, migration, ethnography, North America
celia.forget@celat.ulaval.ca

G

Liesl L. Gambold, Associate Professor, Dalhousie University, Canada
KEYWORDS: international retirement migration; experiences of aging migrants; diverse intentional communities; LGBTQ aging and housing; qualitative research methods; European Union, Mexico
liesl.gambold@dal.ca
Sofia Gaspar, Senior Researcher, CIES-ISCTE, Portugal
KEYWORDS: family lifestyle migration, privileged mobilities, Portugal, investment migrations, climate-induced migration
sofia.gaspar@iscte-iul.pt
Jordi Giner, Senior Lecturer, Universitat de València, Spain
KEYWORDS: return migration, retirement migration, Spain
Jordi.Giner@uv.es

H

Kelly Hall, Reader, University of Birmingham, UK
KEYWORDS: retirement migration, Spain, EU, care, fourth age, return migration, Brexit
k.j.hall@bham.ac.uk
Olga Hannonen, Postdoctoral Researcher, Business School, University of Eastern Finland
KEYWORDS: second-home mobility, lifestyle mobility, trans-border mobility, digital nomads, voluntary mobile populations, Russians
olga.hannonen@uef.fi
Matthew Hayes, Professor of Sociology, Canada Research Chair in Global and Transnational Studies, St. Thomas University, Fredericton, Canada
KEYWORDS: global sociology, migration, political economy, urban studies, social theory
mhayes@stu.ca
Azad Heydarov, Ph.D. Candidate, The Doctoral College of Sociology, University of Wroclaw, Poland
KEYWORDS: Digital nomads, international volunteering, youth & generation, intercultural mediation, digital sociology
azad.heydarov@uwr.edu.pl
Katie Higgins, University of Sheffield, UK
KEYWORDS: British, Aotearoa New Zealand, lifestyle migration, settler colonialism, critical race theory
katiewrighthiggins@gmail.com
Brian A. Hoey, Ph.D., Professor of Anthropology and Interim Dean of the Honors College, Marshall University, USA
KEYWORDS: amenity migration, post-industrial economic change, place and personhood, environmental health, disaster studies, ethnographic methods

I

Hiroki Igarashi, Assistant Professor, Graduate School of Global and Transdisciplinary Studies, Chiba University, Japan
KEYWORDS: transnational families, education, social stratification, elites,  cosmopolitanism
hiroki@chiba-u.jp

J

 

Edward Jackiewicz , Professor and Department Chair, California State University Northridge, USA
KEYWORDS: retirement migration, lifestyle migration, amenity migration,  Latin America/ Caribbean, Western United States
ed.jackiewicz@csun.edu
Michael Janoschka, Professor, Geographisches Institut, Universität Leipzig, Germany
KEYWORDS: citizenship, displacement, local political conflicts, political participation, Latin America, Spain
michael.janoschka@uni-leipzig.de

K

Bahar Kaba, PhD Candidate, Ege University, Turkey
KEYWORDS: urban/rural/coastal lifestyle migration, from Istanbul to Izmir, representation of place, place attachment, place identity
baharkaba@outlook.com
Dr. Kumiko Kawashima, Associate Professor, Rikkyo University, Japan
KEYWORDS: working holiday, youth, labour, consumption, gender, retirement migration, Asia, Japan, Australia
kumiko.kawashima@rikkyo.ac.jp
Dr. Nilay Kilinç, Postdoctoral Researcher, Helsinki Institute of Urban and Regional Studies, University of Helsinki, Finland
KEYWORDS: highly-skilled migration, urban inequality, return migration, Euro-Turks, belonging, lifestyle migration
nilay.kilinc@helsinki.fi
Stefan Kordel, Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany
KEYWORDS: rural in-migration, mobilities, attachments and home, migration-development nexus, participatory and visual research methods
stefan.kordel@fau.de
Mari Korpela, Academy Research Fellow, Tampere University, Finland
KEYWORDS: bohemian lifestyle migration, India, children, countercultures, ethnography
mari.korpela@tuni.fi

L

Ann Elisabeth Laksfoss Cardozo, Associate Professor, University of Stavanger, Norway
KEYWORDS: Retirement migration, local history, transnational relations, citizen science, environmental citizenship, history of ornithology/nature conservation
Ann.e.cardozo@uis.no
Raúl Lardiés-Bosque, PhD in Geography, Associate Professor, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
KEYWORDS: retirement migration, lifestyle migration in rural areas, counteurbanisation, residental tourism, Spain and Mexico
rlardies@unizar.es
Michelle Lawson, PhD, Associate Lecturer, The Open University, UK
KEYWORDS: migrant identity, online discourse, discourse analysis, media representations of British in France, migration and climate
ariege.research@btinternet.com
Brenda Le Bigot, Associate Professor, University of Poitiers, France
KEYWORDS: retirement, backpackers, working holiday visas, Morocco, South-East Asia
brenda.le.bigot@univ-poitiers.fr
Hege H. Leivestad, Assistant Professor, Department of Social Anthropology, Stockholm University, Sweden
KEYWORDS: mobility, caravanning/mobile homes, materiality, logistics, British in Spain
hege.leivestad@socant.su.se
Catrin Lundström, Associate professor, Linköping University, Sweden
KEYWORDS: gender, whiteness, transnationalism, expatriates, Swedish women in Southwestern US, Singapore and southern Spain
catrin.lundstrom@liu.se

M

Fabiola Mancinelli, PhD, Lecturer, Department of Social Anthropology, University of Barcelona
KEYWORDS: Digital nomads, lifestyle nomads families, expatriates, Southeast Asia, postcolonialism, social theory
fabiolamancinelli@ub.edu
David Matarrita-Cascante, Associate professor,Texas A&M University, USA
KEYWORDS: community development, community conservation, natural resource sociology, environmental sociology
dmatarrita@tamu.edu
Rebekah Miller, PhD
KEYWORDS: Costa del Sol, digital media, geographies of ageing, home, EU referendum
rebekahgmiller@gmail.com

N

Raluca Nagy, Part-time Lecturer, Hokkaido University, Japan
KEYWORDS: migration, tourism, mobilities, medical anthropology, Asia-Pacific, Japan, Vietnam
ralukkia@yahoo.com
Melanie Neumann, Dr, Embassy of Ireland, Berlin, Germany
KEYWORDS: bohemian lifestyle migration, Berlin, Irish migration, British migration, language
meli.neumann@hotmail.com
Roger Norum, Associate Professor in  Cultural Anthropology, University of Oulu, Finland
KEYWORDS: environment, media, infrastructure, elite mobilities, travel writing, transdisciplinarity; Arctic, Nepal, Cambodia
roger.norum@oulu.fi

O

Dr. Caroline Oliver, Associate Professor in Sociology, University College London, Institute of Education, UK
KEYWORDS: retirement migration, Spain, ageing, community, class
c.oliver@ucl.ac.uk
Karen O’Reilly, Professor Emerita, Loughborough University, UK
KEYWORDS: lifestyle migration of British, to Spain, East Asia, children of migrants, expatriates
k.oreilly@lboro.ac.uk
Meghann Ormond, Associate Professor, Wageningen University, The Netherlands
KEYWORDS: medical travel/tourism; transnational lifestyle mobilities; tourism-migration nexus; migrant heritage; transformative and participatory research approaches and methods; Malaysia; The Netherlands
meghann.ormond@wur.nl
Nick Osbaldiston, Senior lecturer, James Cook University, Australia
KEYWORDS: theory, cultural narratives of migration, Australia, internal migration, community impacts
nick.osbaldiston@jcu.edu.au

P

Jordan Pinel, Postdoctoral Researcher, URV-Caisse Nationale d’Assurance Vieillesse ; Associated to Migrinter, Université de Poitiers, France
KEYWORDS: retirees from France to Morocco, return migration, residential practices, family and social spaces
jordan.pinel@gmail.com

R

Gerhard Rainer, Postdoctoral Researcher, Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Germany
KEYWORDS: amenity/lifestyle migration, tourism-migration nexus, political ecology, globalization
gerhard.rainer@ku.de
Daniel Rauhut, Senior Researcher, University of Eastern Finland
KEYWORDS: borders and mobilities, integration processes, welfare, highly skilled migration, lifestyle migration, practicing privilege, elsewhereness, Swedes in Portugal, qualitative and quantitative research methods
daniel.rauhut@uef.fi
Lucie Remešová, PhD Student, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic
KEYWORDS: Peru and Morocco, privileged migration, whiteness, bohemian migration, romantic migration, sport tourism, identity and spirituality
lucie.remesova@gmail.com
Joaquín Rodes, Assistant lecturer, Catholic University San Antonio of Murcia, Spain
KEYWORDS: retirement migration, transnationalism, social integration, Spain
jrodes@ucam.edu
Nataša Rogelja Caf, Research Fellow, Research Centre of the Academy of Science and Arts, Slovenia
KEYWORDS: liveaboards in Mediterranean, new forms of nomadism among Westerners, tourism, maritime anthropology, mobile ethnography
natasa.rogelja@zrc-sazu.si

S

Noel B. Salazar, Founding Director CuMoRe (Cultural Mobilities Research), KU Leuven, Belgium
KEYWORDS: (im)mobility theory, mothodologies of mobility, life-cycle transition migration, EU, Chile, Indonesia, Tanzania
noel.salazar@kuleuven.be
Dora Sampaio, Assistant Professor, Utrecht University, Netherlands
KEYWORDS: migration regimes, ageing, transnational inequalities, lifestyle mobilities, care, Azores, Portugal
d.i.martinssampaio@uu.nl
João Sardinha, Researcher, University of Lisbon, Portugal
KEYWORDS: Central Portugal, lifestyle migration and rural resettlement, inter-community bonding, intra-community bridging, lifestyle migrant cyber spaces
jmssardinha@gmail.com
Martin Šimon, Researcher, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic
KEYWORDS: rural lifestyle migration, counterurbanisation, amenity migration, mobilities, post-socialist countries
martin.simon@soc.cas.cz
Barbara E. Smith, MA, lecturer, British Columbia Institute of Technology, Canada
KEYWORDS: retirement Migration, Canadians wintering in 55+ seasonal communities, place attachment, sustainable destination dev’t
smithbarbe@gmail.com

T

Šárka Tesařová, Graduate student, Charles University, Czech Republic
KEYWORDS: residential decentralization, rural lifestyle migration, decision-making process
sarka.tesarova@fsv.cuni.cz
Kate Torkington, Professora Adjunta, Universidade do Algarve, Portugal
KEYWORDS: migrant identities, place-identity, lifestyle migration, Algarve, Portugal, entrepreneurial lifestyle migration to rural areas, discourse analysis
ktorking@ualg.pt
Rémy Tremblay, Full Professor, Téluq, Université du Québec, Montreal, Canada
KEYWORDS: tourism-based ethnic communities, Canadian tourists in Florida and North America
tremblay.remy@teluq.ca
Catherine Trundle, Senior lecturer, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
KEYWORDS: migration and place, cross-cultural marriage, Italy, American migrants, the ethics of care and responsibility, charity and philanthropy, belonging, reflexivity
catherine.trundle@vuw.ac.nz

V

Simone Varriale, Lecturer in Sociology, University of Lincoln, UK
KEYWORDS: Post-austerity Italian migration; youth mobilities/migrations; decolonial theory and race/class; lifestyle and labour migration; intra-EU migrations/mobilities
svarriale@lincoln.ac.uk

W

Rachael Wallis, PhD, University of Southern Queensland, Australia
KEYWORDS: lifestyle migration, Australia, social imaginaries, belonging, identity
rachael.wallis@usq.edu.au
Tobias Weidinger, Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany
KEYWORDS: immigration to rural areas, retirement migration, regional development
tobias.weidinger@fau.de
Annie Woube, PhD, Researcher, Uppsala University, Sweden
KEYWORDS: lifestyle migration, Costa del Sol, transnational belonging, migration stories, translocational positionality, gender
annie.woube@gender.uu.se

Y

Yana Yovcheva, PhD, Independent Researcher, Bulgaria
KEYWORDS: lifestyle migration, Japanese migrants, Europe, gender, link between studying abroad and lifestyle migration
yana_svezhen@yahoo.com

Z

Hila Zaban, PhD, Senior Lecturer, Kinneret Academic College, Israel
KEYWORDS: Jewish ideological and religious lifestyle migration, Jerusalem, Israel, place making, belonging, gentrification
hilazaban@gmail.com