About Us

The network

The Finnish doctoral training network in philosophy was established in 2015 as a collaboration network for philosophy units in Finnish universities. It was preceded by the Doctoral Programme of Philosophy (1995-2015), which was funded by the Academy of Finland. The aim of the network is to support doctoral training in philosophy in the Finnish universities by providing travel grants, organizing an annual graduate conference, and supporting smaller workshops in order to bring people together. For practical and educational reasons, working language in events organized by network is English. Partner universities include all Finnish universities whose PhD-programs include philosophy: universities of Helsinki, Jyväskylä, Tampere, Turku, and Åbo Akademi. They have agreed that the post-graduate level philosophy courses in the partner universities are open for all members of the network.

The network has gained three four year funding periods from the Kone Foundation (Koneen Säätiö). The first funding period covered the years 2016-2019, the second one years 2020-2023, and the current third one will cover the years 2024-2027.

The board

The activity of the network is led by the board with representatives from all the partner universities. The current board members are prof. Martin Gustafsson (Åbo), prof. Arto Laitinen (Tampere), university lecturer Caterina Marchionni (Helsinki), university lecturer Helena Siipi (Turku), prof. Mikko Yrjönsuuri (Jyväskylä) and Jaana Virta (PhD researcher member, Tampere). The network is coordinated in Tampere University, by Arto Laitinen (the head of the network) and Tommi Vehkavaara (coordinator).

Members – Doctoral researchers

All the accepted doctoral researchers of the partner universities majoring in philosophy are members of the network. The board may accept also other doctoral researchers as members if their dissertation projects are of philosophical relevance.

Mailing list

The network maintains a mailing list (filjatko@lists.tuni.fi) distributing information relevant for doctoral researchers. The members and the supervisors of doctoral researchers can join to the list by sending an e-mail to the list moderator Tommi Vehkavaara. Everyone who are joined in the list can mail to it.