Fellows 2015-2016

Study of Society

Category I (Professorial Fellow, The Foundations’ Professor Pool Grants)

Professor Anneli Anttonen, 1.8.2015-31.7.2016
Professor Arja Ropo, 1.1.-31.12.2015
Professor Jarmo Vakkuri, 1.1.-31.12.2015

Category II (Senior Research Fellow)

Senior Researcher Christian Laes (disability history in ancient society to Late Antiquity), 1.8.2014-31.7.2016
Senior Researcher Robert Imre, 1.1.-31.7.2016
Senior Researcher Pirjo Lindfors, 1.8.2015-31.7.2017
Senior Researcher Mahmut Mutman, 1.2.2016-31.1.2017
Senior Researcher Meyda Yegenoglu Mutman, 1.2.2016-31.1.2017
Senior Researcher Pirjo Nikander, 1.1.2014-31.12.2015
Senior Researcher Ilkka Pietilä, 1.8.2015-31.7.2017
Senior Researcher Anna Rastas (African diaspora communities and cultures), 1.8.2014-31.8.2015
Senior Researcher Esa Reunanen (mediatization, political public sphere, political journalism), 1.10.2014-31.7.2016 (Kone Foundation Fellowship)
Senior Researcher Toni Saarivirta, 1.8.2015-31.7.2017

Category III (Postdoctoral Research Fellow)

Postdoctoral Researcher Jarkko Bamberg (urban planning and policymaking), 1.8.2014-31.7.2016
Postdoctoral Researcher Jessica de Bloom, 1.8.2015-31.7.2017
Postdoctoral Researcher Heikki A. Kovalainen (moral and social philosophy), 1.8.2014-31.7.2016
Postdoctoral Researcher Pia Koivunen, 1.8.2015-31.7.2017
Postdoctoral Researcher Marjaana Rautalin (policy synchronization, epistemic governance, domestication of global policy trends), 1.8.2014-31.7.2016
Postdoctoral Researcher Liina-Kaisa Tynkkynen, 1.8.2015-31.7.2017
Postdoctoral Researcher Jukka Tyrkkö (multilingual sociolinguistics), 1.8.2014-31.7.2016

Permanent Fellows

Pertti Alasuutari, Professor, School of Social Sciences and Humanities
Risto Heiskala, Professor, Director, Institute for Advanced Social Research
Pirjo Nikander, University Lecturer, Doctoral School
Jorma Sipilä, Professor emeritus, University of Tampere


The IASR in front of St. Isaac’s Cathedral, St. Petersburg, Russia, 31 January-5 February 2016