People

Research Director

Marko Lehti

  • Research Director of Tampere Peace Research Institute (TAPRI)
  • Academic Director of MA programme in Peace, Mediation and Conflict Research (PEACE)
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358401901595
  • marko.lehti@tuni.fi
More information

Professor

Tarja Väyrynen

  • Professor of Peace and Conflict Research
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358401904097
  • tarja.vayrynen@tuni.fi
More information

Senior Researchers

Élise Féron

  • Senior Research Fellow
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358503187631
  • elise.feron@tuni.fi
More information

Anitta Kynsilehto

  • Senior Research Fellow
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358503187595
  • +358503187595
  • anitta.kynsilehto@tuni.fi
More information

Marjaana Jauhola

More information

Researchers

Bruno Lefort

  • Postdoctoral Research Fellow
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358503187045
  • bruno.lefort@tuni.fi
More information

Katariina Harjunpää

More information

Ilaria Tucci

More information

Prince Agyei

  • Doctoral Researcher
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358401601020
  • prince.agyei@tuni.fi
More information

Zahra Edalati

  • Doctoral Researcher
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358503226092
  • zahra.edalati@tuni.fi
More information

Cæcilie Svop Jensen

More information

Ebru Şevik

  • Doctoral Researcher
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358504671633
  • ebru.sevik@tuni.fi
More information

Anna Sofia Suoranta

  • Doctoral Researcher
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358503182533
  • anna.suoranta@tuni.fi
More information

Meeri Tiensuu

More information

Anush Petrosyan

  • Doctoral Researcher
  • Research Assistant
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • anush.petrosyan@tuni.fi
More information

Alfashtaki Housana

More information

Associate Researchers

Angel Iglesias Ortiz

More information

Frank Möller

More information

Vadim Romashov

  • Postdoctoral Researcher
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358469582502
  • vadim.romashov@tuni.fi
More information

Emeritus

Tuomo Melasuo

  • Professor Emeritus
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
  • +358401901592
  • tuomo.melasuo@tuni.fi
More information

Unto Vesa

  • Research Fellow Emeritus
  • TAPRI
  • Faculty of Social Sciences, Tampere University
More information

Interns

Doctoral Students

Ana Tarazona Galvis

Email: ana.tarazona@tuni.fi        ORCID        Supervisor: Anitta Kynsilehto

Research Topic: Decolonizing the understanding of peace and gender in peacebuilding processes from below in Colombia.

Anna Sofia Suoranta

Email: anna.suoranta@tuni.fi        Supervisor: Eeva Puumala

Research Topic: Everyday peace of youth in urban environments.

Anna Sutherland

Email: anna.sutherland@tuni.fi        ORCID          Supervisor: Marko Lehti

Research Topic: The Possibilities of Design Thinking in the Peacebuilding Context.

Armenak Tokmajyan

Email: armenak.tokmajyan@tuni.fi          Supervisor: Marko Lehti

Research Topic: Brokers of Stability: Local Intermediaries and State violence in pre-2011 Syria.

Bayan Arouri

Email: bayan.arouri@tuni.fi          Supervisor: Anitta Kynsilehto

Research Topic: Absent stories: Decolonizing understanding of gender among Syrian refugees in Jordan and Lebanon.

Bram J. De Smet

Email: bram.desmet@tuni.fi       ORCID          Supervisor: Tarja Väyrynen

Research Topic: How sovereign actors, influenced by nationalism and militarisation, enact body politics, biopower as necropolitics, and gendered violence on subjected and oppressed bodies, as well as interpersonal and intergenerational transmission of this violence.

Cæcilie Svop Jensen

Email: caecilie.svopjensen@tuni.fi         ORCID          Supervisor: Élise Féron

Research Topic: Diasporas and Transportation of Homeland Conflicts: Inter-group Dynamics and Host Country Responses.

Ebru Sevik

Email: ebru.sevik@tuni.fi        ORCID          Supervisor: Eeva Puumala

Research Topic: Encountering Difference: A Socio-Spatial Perspective on Coexistence in Urban Space.

Ihntaek Hwang

Email: ihntaek.hwang@tuni.fi        ORCID          Supervisor: Tarja Väyrynen

Research Topic: Imagining national security through body and aesthetics: the case of the South Korean conscientious objectors.

Jutta Martens

Email: jutta.martens@tuni.fi          Supervisor: Marko Lehti

Research Topic: The role of faith based and traditional leaders in the peace processes – Can peace be built on the Western norms.

Juulia Niiniranta

Email: juulia.niiniranta@tuni.fi        ORCID          Supervisor: Anitta Kynsilehto

Research Topic: Peace in the Shadow of Violence – A Visual Study of the Effects of War and Violence on Everyday Peace and Recovery in the Aftermath of Ukrainian War.

Kari Paasonen

Email: kari.paasonen@tuni.fi        ORCID          Supervisor: Marko Lehti

Research Topic: The relationship of unemployment and political instability in the Middle East and North Africa.

Meeri Tiensuu

Email: meeri.tiensuu@tuni.fi        Supervisor: Bruno Lefort

Research Topic: Homeward: exploring co-creation practices towards integration.

Mikko Mäki

Email: mikko.maki@tuni.fi        ORCID          Supervisor: Tuomo Melasuo

Research Topic: Architecture, Built Environment and Political Conflicts.

Peppi Heinikainen

Email: peppi.heinikainen@tuni.fi        ORCID            Supervisor: Marko Lehti

Research Topic: United Nations Security Council and Conflict Settlement: Libya and Syria – Norm Contestation and New Great Power Rivalry in UNSC Decision-Making.

Prince Agyei

Email: prince.agyei@tuni.fi        ORCID            Supervisor: Tarja Väyrynen

Research Topic: The intractability of latent communal violence in Ghana.

Valentina Nura

Email: valentina.nura@tuni.fi          Supervisor: Marko Lehti

Research Topic: The EU, the Vetëvendosje party and the Kosovo Serb minority in the Kosovo and Serbia negotiations

Zahra Edalati

Email: zahra.edalati@tuni.fi        ORCID          Supervisor: Tarja Väyrynen

Research Topic: Transnational women’s rights activism and working across differences (case of Iran).